The 54th SSAA National AGM

SSAA National held its 54th annual general meeting in Sydney on the weekend of April 16 and 17, with delegates from all states and territories as well as two special guest speakers attending.

Reports were presented to the meeting, detailing the activities and achievements of the Membership, Merchandise (SSAA Store), Disciplines, Finance, Insurance, Conservation and Hunting, Media & Publications, Communications, International Affairs and Legislative Action (SSAA-LA) departments. The Executive and National CEO also presented reports.

Elections for the 2016 Executive Board were held on the Saturday, with SSAA National President Geoff Jones, Secretary Kaye McIntyre and Treasurer Alf Bastian all re-elected unopposed. The position of Senior Vice President is now held by SSAA NSW President Paul McNabb and Junior Vice President by SSAA Victoria President Denis Moroney.

Delegates were privileged to see two special presentations over the weekend, the first by Ray Borda. Ray is the founder and managing director of South Australian company Macro Meats Gourmet Game, the largest game meat processor in the world. He is also the chair of the peak industry group Food South Australia, the president of the Kangaroo Industry Association of Australia and is a passionate advocate of sustainable food practices, as well as developing local economies on the international stage.

The second guest speaker was Victorian Nationals Senator Bridget McKenzie. Elected as a Senator for Victoria in 2010, Bridget is a strong supporter for the shooting sports and in addition to being the co-chair of the Parliamentary Friends of Shooting group, she has publically demonstrated her enthusiasm for our recreation. Bridget also believes that strong regional economies and secure regional communities are critical to the future prosperity of Australia.

At the formal dinner on Saturday night, delegates welcomed SSAA Life Member, National Championships scorer and Benchrest stalwart Max Coady.

The 2017 SSAA National AGM will be held in the Northern Territory.

All News